Blueberry Sour Cream Pie

I love pie. I love making pie, and I love to eat pie. Sadly, the natives don’t really enjoy pie with me, so I rarely make it, if only to prevent myself from eating pie for days on end. As luck would have it, the Relief Society for my local congregation wanted to hold a pie class for the ladies and I volunteered to talk a bit about pie. I was also asked to bring a pie, which ended up turning into me baking two pies. I know.

So, I decided to go for the gold medal and make the blueberry sour cream pie I had about 10 years ago at Mom’s cafe in Salina Utah. It was so good, and I’ve googled and searched and cannot find a recipe for anything like it. So I decided to figure i out on my own.

1 Pie Crust

4 cups of fresh blueberries

3/4 cup of sugar

1 t. ground ginger

3 T. of cornstarch

4 T. butter

Rinse the blueberries and check for stems in a large colander. In a small bowl toss the sugar, ginger, and cornstarch together.  Once the blueberries have drained, pour into a large bowl and toss with the sugar, ginger, and cornstarch until well coated. Eat some. It’s delicious.

Roll a single pie crust out and place it into a pie dish. Pour the coated blueberries into the pie crust, then top with the butter cut into eighths.

Bake at 425 degrees for about 60 minutes. When it comes out, put it into the fridge or freezer to speed the cooling process.

For the topping

1 cup whipping cream

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup of sugar

1 t. vanilla

Using a mixer, beat all four ingredients until it becomes creamy like whipped cream and then store it in the fridge until your pie is cooled. Once the pie has cooled to the touch on the bottom center of the pie pan, top with the sour cream whipped cream and put back into the fridge. The longer it sets up in the fridge the better, ideally a good 12 hours. You can eat it sooner, don’t be afraid. It may be a bit runny though, which is also kind of yummy.

It’s so delicious. I am very happy with how this experiment turned out. So next time you find yourself looking at a carton of beautiful fresh blueberries at the store you will have the perfect use for them on a Sunday afternoon.

One Comment on “Blueberry Sour Cream Pie”

  1. Kristen says:

    Do you think this would work by substituting strawberries for the blueberries? Just wondering, since I just got 3 containers from my produce co-op and was debating what to do with them.


Leave a Reply

