Rusted Crust Pizza Ring

Look my first food photo! I'm growing up into such a beautiful young food blogger.

There was a time I wouldn’t have allowed pillsbury crescent rolls into my home. I made EVERYTHING from scratch. I was so awesome in my former life. I would start dinner prep about 3 pm and work on fresh ingredients and fresh breads all afternoon and produce grand meals.

But, then my kids grew, and now we spend many afternoons running around, lost in the mazes of roads in our mini-van. this has left me groping my refrigerator on many evenings looking for fast, yummy, and hoping to add a vegetable in somehow.

So, fast forward to a couple of nights ago. I found myself low on groceries, in possession of very few staples, with a hungry crew spread all over the neighborhood and a one year old, which pretty much ensured I would not be able to hit the grocery store in time for dinner. I texted the hubby to make a stop, but he was getting a cold and not feeling well and just wanted to come home.

On a whim I called my sister, who had been planning on heading to the store anyway. Which was awesome, so she picked up some pillsbury crescent rolls for me. Only she wasn’t sure which kind, so she bought the regular kind, and the big and buttery kind.

Which I (ab)used to make this pizza recipe after a foiled little league tournament game to feed a four hungry children and one husband.

And I must say, I hit a home run with this one.

So, after that long winded exploration in soccer-mom-ing, let’s get down to the bottom of the point.

Ingredients:

Big and buttery Pillsbury Crescent rolls

1 package pepperoni

8 oz. mozarella cheese

2 cups of fresh spinach leaves

1 cup of red sauce (pizza sauce or marinara sauce, from a jar if you must, I am learning some days we must)

1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese

garlic powder

dried oregano

crushed red pepper

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Stack the pepperoni on a cutting board, and slice or dice into small pieces. I sliced mine like mini pizzas into 8 little wedges. It was lots of fun. Then, stack your spinach leaves (or not if you don’t feel like a control freak…) and chop into small pieces. Toss the pepperoni and spinach into a bowl. Grate the mozarella cheese, reserving 1/4 cup for later, and add that to the bowl, finish with the sauce and stir until well combined.

On a round pizza stone, layer the opened crescent rolls into a sun burst pattern with the center having a diameter of about six inches.  Spoon the filling onto each of the crescent rolls, then pull the tapered end of the sun burst in and wrap it around the filling so that it now forms a ring of delightful deliciousness.  Sprinkle evenly with the saved mozarella cheese, then sprinkle liberally with parmesan cheese, garlic powder, and dried oregano (and lightly with the crushed red pepper if you like it spicy). Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes, or until golden brown.

Serve it up to your family. When your kids ask what the green stuff in the mix is, tell them “herbs” then smile like Bree Van de Kamp as they shovel fork fulls of spinach into their little bodies. Life is good, and sometimes it’s ok to (ab)use processed foods grown in funny tin tubes.

One Comment on “Rusted Crust Pizza Ring”

  1. Melissa says:

    Just found your blog through your link. 🙂 This looks really good – can’t wait to try it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

