Heirloom Zucchini Bread

I have fond memories from my childhood of my mom making zucchini bread. Zucchini is a huge crop in Utah during the summer and many variations of breads and cakes and casseroles and side dishes abound. When I get my hands on zucchini it is going into either mom’s zucchini bread or dad’s zucchini saute. Both are amazing. Both mean summer time.  True story: Once when I was 14 I wanted zucchini bread pretty much more than my first kiss. So I opened the fridge and found to my delight that we had some zucchini. So I got it out, shredded it up, found mom’s recipe and whipped up some zucchini bread. And the only flaw was that I had grated up a couple of cucumbers rather than zucchinis. It was atrocious in flavor, texture, and smell. Try to avoid this fatal error.

 

Heirloom Zucchini Bread

2 cups white sugar

1 cup of softened butter

3 eggs

3 cups flour

1 t. salt

3/4 t. ground allspice

3/4 t. ground nutmeg

3/4 t. baking powder

1 T. vanilla

2 cups of shredded zucchini

1/4 cup milk

 

In mixing bowl cream butter, sugar, and eggs. Once creamed to a soft texture, add vanilla, and mix. Then in small bowl combine flour, salt, baking powde,r nutmeg, and allspice then mix well. Add the finely shredded zucchini* and finally milk to loosen the batter if it is too thick (it should be like thick cake batter).

Bake at 350 degrees for about an hour, or until you can smell it. It should softly crack on top and be golden brown. Table butter or tub butter would be a great spread for this fresh bread, the saltiness of the butter on the soft warm bread is beyond all definitions of tasty.

* To prep zucchini, scrub it under warm water and then dry. You can process it in a food processor using the shredding insert, or you can shred it by hand, which is what I prefer. I do a fine shred which works well. You can drain off the excess liquid if you are concerned about it, and you do not need to peel the zucchini to use it.

I enjoy this recipe as it has spices but not cinnamon, which is a nice switch from the ever present cinnamon. You can also toss some chocolate chips in for variety if you are in the mood for chocolate. But it doesn’t need any help 😉 .

 

Leave a Reply

